Are You Fighting Stereotypes?

All of my life I have been fighting labels and stereotypes. The ones set from within my own family core, the ones within my Italian background, and all the other ones found within the culture of each country I have lived in. Add to all that the fact that I am an Immigrant woman and you can double the struggle. Yet, I chose to fight. I still don’t know why exactly, all I know is that labels infuriate me so much I make it a point to prove them not applicable to me. It is in my nature to fight them and so I do automatically, but I never gave a lot of thought to how those labels and stereotypes could hurt me by limiting my success and income until I was introduced to Fighting the Stereotype by Alexander R. Gibson.

I invited him to I Have Something to Say Live and our conversation inspired me so as well as the poem he shared. I realized that my fight against the labels and stereotypes that were being imposed to me was not just for my wellbeing. My fight was opening the road for those who would come after me. But it doesn’t stop there. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that where I stand today and the person I became was a direct result of my battles against my own battle against the stereotypes applied to my persona. Yet, I am guilty of stereotyping. I can’t come up with an exact number of times I stereotyped others. I can’t remember who or why. But I am not able to avoid the shadow of guilt that over comes my soul.

I am grateful I had the opportunity to meet Alexander, an inspiring young man who knows firsthand few things about fighting stereotypes. He shared his experiences through his poetry on his book Fighting The Stereotype. He didn’t stop there. Alexander set himself to change the stereotypes as Founder/CEO of Help For the Helped.

I encourage everyone to listen to what Alexander has to say on I Have Something To Say Live!

For more information about Help For the Help visit www.my.fundraising.com/HelpfortheHelped

About sviolante

Author of Innocent War www.susanviolante.com
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Interviews, Susan Violante, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

