Graduation Speeches by Irene M.

This past weekend I attended my high school graduation. Our class salutatorian and valedictorian both gave speeches to the graduates. As I listened to their speeches I couldn’t help but wonder if I would ever remember what they were telling me. Was it useful advice? Or just a twenty minute blur? The next day, I realized I did not remember much of what they said. Then I started wondering what had I wished they told me? I began to research and found a blogger, Paul Graham, who wrote an article on “What You Wish You’d Known.” Mr. Graham discussed the most important topic of what we don’t know in high school: what to do with your life.

I find myself in this exact position. I just graduated high school and now I don’t know what to do with my life. Naturally, I am attending college but this is not everyone’s plan. And while I am going to college, I still have no idea what to study. An important thing high school graduates should know is that they have options. While many people dream of being a fire fighter when they are young, closing off your options because you think you know what you want to do is a mistake.

When speakers fire up the typical Graduation Speech, the theme usually is don’t give up on your dreams. However, this is not a good way to put it because it implies that you’re supposed to be bound by some plan you made a while ago. Thus, the idea of giving up on your dreams should be more along the lines of don’t think you can’t to what others can do. I believe the most important thing is believing in yourself and you will be successful in the future.

About sviolante

Author of Innocent War www.susanviolante.com
This entry was posted in Blog, Thoughts, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

