The adventures of a first time publisher

I have always been a ‘hands on’ person. Somehow I learn faster when I tackle things directly instead of just studying the theory first…this is why I decided to experiment with my picture book Tuma: The Tribe’s Little Princess. It’s been a learning experience, to say the least, to publish my picture book as my first project for I Have Something To Say Press.

How difficult could it be? I mean, the story had already been published in 1996 by Creative With Words. I had done the illustrations on pastels already. It was a matter of adaptation and lay out. I even knew how to use the software.

Well, it has certainly been a learning experience! Colors on the original are not the same on the screen. So there was a lot of editing of the art work. The adaptation of the story to the picture book was also challenging as I tried to make it entertaining and educational for toddlers to 5 years old. But the biggest challenge was working the layout. I pressed on and did it all! I finally created the cover templates only to realize that the printer doesn’t offer landscape orientation. Of course my entire layout was on landscape!

So, I had a chamomile tea to calm me down and re-did the whole layout, including the cover, and sent all the files to the printers.

I celebrated going out to dinner with my husband and started counting the time left for when I would get the first galleys!

To pre-order a copy visit www.princesstuma.com

About sviolante

Author of Innocent War www.susanviolante.com
This entry was posted in Blog, Childrens Books, Susan Violante, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

